Consumer Price Index CPI

Consumer Price Index measures changes in the price level of a weighted average market basket of consumer goods and services purchased by households.

It measures changes over time in the level of retail prices of selected goods and services on which consumers of a defined group spend their incomes.

Four types of CPI are as follows:

  1. CPI for Industrial Workers (IW).
  2. CPI for Agricultural Labourer (AL).
  3. CPI for Rural Labourer (RL).
  4. CPI (Rural/Urban/Combined).

in this types, the first three are compiled by the Labour Bureau in the Ministry of Labour and Employment.

Fourth is compiled by the Central Statistical Organisation (CSO) in the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation.

Base Year for CPI is 2012.